The Information Hub for Iowa Golf Search

Van Buskirk, Annual Award Winners to be honored on April 5th
Public is welcome to attend ceremony at Ankeny G&CC

Ron Van Buskirk will be honored with the IGA's George Turner Distinguished Service Award on April 5th

Ron Van Buskirk will be honored with the Iowa Golf Association's George Turner Distinguished Service Award on Friday, April 5th. The Turner award recognizes outstanding contributions to golf in Iowa by volunteers.

For many years there was often only one contestant on IGA Championship scoreboards with the town “Sioux City” behind the name.  That name was Ron Van Buskirk.  When the new IGA office opened in the Des Moines area in 2002 Ron had just been elected Secretary. We could always count on him to be at every meeting and most events.

Ron’s dedication and loyalty to the IGA was key component that led to greater participation and inclusion for golfers and clubs on the “West Coast” of Iowa.  Ron’s six years as an IGA officer were filled with change and some volatility.  His steadfast leadership and belief in the mission helped to make the association better and stronger.

Ron served as IGA President for almost three years from 2004 to 2006.  During that tenure the IGA Board moved to change the bylaws in order to strengthen the membership and provide broader and better services to the golf clubs and golfers of Iowa.  Ron’s influence led the IGA to taking the Iowa Amateur to Sioux City in 2006, the first IGA Championship held there in three decades! Because of his commitment to the IGA we now see many more names with western Iowa towns on our scoreboards.

Ron continues to serve the game of golf as a member of the board of the IGA Foundation and of the Iowa Golf Hall of Fame Committee.  He is an extremely deserving recipient of the George Turner Distinguished Service Award.

Van Buskirk will be honored along with the recipients of the 2012 IGA Annual Awards: Club Manager of the Year Aaron Luttenegger of Spirit Hollow GC, PGA Pro of the Year Zack Vervaecke of Jester Park GC, 18-hole Superintendent of the Year Rick Tegtmeier of Des Moines G&CC, 9-hole Superintendent of the Year Dan Niebuhr of Wapsie Ridge GC, 18-hole Course of the Year The Ridge GC in Sioux Center and 9-hole Course of the Year The Meadows CC in Moville. Click here to view a press release on the 2012 Annual Award Winners.

The reception and awards ceremony takes place at 12:30 p.m. on April 5th at Ankeny G&CC. The public is welcome to attend and lunch will be available for purchase. 

Click here to view a flyer with sign up instructions on the event


Donate to the IGA Foundation

Upcoming Entry Deadlines:
Monday, June 6 - Forever 39 Match Play (June 13-14 Urbandale G&CC)
Monday, June 6 - Carroll Amateur (June 11-12)
Thurs, June 9 - Father/Son & Parent/Child (June 18-19 @ Jester Park)

HEADLINES... click here to view News Archives
2016 IGAF Partners Program
Purchase Golf Card - save $$$
Enter IGA Championships online
Iowa Superintendent Blogs
Video Gallery | Photo Gallery
2015 Yearbook
Employment Opportunities


Copyright © 2016 Iowa Golf Association All Rights Reserved